My Top 100 Boardgames: 10-1

This is the final post in my series of top 100 board games. You can see them all at the following links:

100-80
79-60
59-40
39-30
29-21
20-11

And now this post covers the top ten games themselves. As with all previous lists, I will have a little spiel about the educational value of the game as I see it, with a summary. However, I will also feature an image of the games and a little more detail about WHY the game is in my top ten.

10. Scythe

Photo from my first game of Scythe (where I was thumped 103-35)

Scythe is a game that could be higher on this list, once I play it more. It has so many of the amazing things I love in board games: it can play solo, it plays well at different player counts, it has exploration and resources, and it has some combat. Speaking of which, I am still unsure about whether I like the combat or am a bit ambivalent. However, given that the game focuses more on exploration and resource management than combat, I think I can overlook this side of the game.

Educational value: This is a game set in an alternate history version of Europe. I could see this being used as a precursor to studying World War 1 or World War 2 in terms of the build-up of empires and preparing for war. It certainly would be an interesting way to get the students involved and then discuss with them why the game is themed in the manner that it is and how this connects to real history.

9. Blood Rage

One of the more striking box covers for me when it comes to board games!

Blood Rage seems like it is ‘just another Viking game’ but it is not. The way the mechanics work in terms of the whole area control, mythological monsters, upgrading figures and fighting is so uniquely strung together and so very well done. It helps that the production of the miniatures is very nice, but what sets Blood Rage apart for me is that it is easy enough to learn to play, but difficult to learn how to master gameplay at the same time.

Educational value: Because this has a Viking and a mythology theme, it could tie into History lessons looking at these aspects. Or of course lessons in English studying those concepts. However, t is a game that does need some time devoted to playing and this may affect suitability in a classroom environment.

8. Aeon’s End: Legacy

Just the faintest tease of the rulebook title…anything more is spoiler town!

A fantasy deck-builder with a twist: no shuffling and it’s cooperative. That aside, the way the legacy features work to guide you through this game is so clever and well-thought-out that I have to say it is one of the better fantasy games I have played. The one let down for me is that the story was not particularly captivating in terms of characters (although I understand this gets better in future ‘legacy-style’ Aeon’s End games, the caveat being: I don’t know if I’ll play those?).

Educational value: There’s mostly entertainment value here. It could be of use in studying storytelling through an examination of the legacy elements as a class and how these kinds of ‘choices’ affect the narrative, but it’s more of an entertaining game than one with a lot of educational merits. That said, you can still learn cooperative skills through this game and teamwork and those are always pivotal to all learners.

7. A Feast for Odin

My player board in a recent game (I forgot to emigrate)

A Feast for Odin is the only game on my list that I have never played physically. I am currently 50 games deep into the solo and multiplayer modes on the Boardgame Arena (BGA) alpha version, for which I can only assume they must be close to a beta release. Just based off those games alone, I can definitively say this is one of my top ten favourite games I have played. It’s so thematic around how the worker actions match up with Viking history and beliefs, and it is one of those games where everyone has the same actions and yet end up with completely different boards and scores by the end of the game. It’s brilliant.

Educational Value: I would state that the value in A Feast for Odin lies in the Viking theme. If I had a class on Viking History, I could easily use this game to teach the ways in which Vikings lived. It is just so thematic from emigrating to the raiding and the actions of hunting or whaling.

6. Dune Imperium

On my shelf next to a few other deserving games!

Dune Imperium is one of the tightest games that I have recently played. It is a real struggle fighting over the worker spaces, the resources, and the influence that come with those worker spaces. The best thing about the game is how it introduces the mechanic of deck building alongside worker placement. It is mostly a worker placement game, but it uses cards to choose where you place workers, and the cards left in your hand give you bonuses at the end of the round. A great struggle for every point until one person finally wins out.

Educational value: Maybe if studying Dune as a novel this could be of interest. Otherwise, it could be used to simulate political conflicts and the tough choices that need to be made, but this would need to be explained explicitly before the lesson to ensure students understood the idea.

5. Sherlock Holmes Consulting Detective (Baker Street Irregulars)

This is a placeholder for not just one game, but a whole system of games: The Consulting Detective games. However, if I was to put one here it is The Baker Street Irregulars which has some of the best storytelling in games (it feels very much like a continuation of the Sherlock Holmes narratives in a game form). And unlike earlier games, this version has a clever way of making sure you have relevant information to pursue your clues by introducing a ‘letter system’. There is also a way to track the time taken to travel in some cases, which you can use or play without. The real beauty of this game is how good it was to play via Zoom during the lockdowns, since the newspapers were all put online by the publisher and all that was needed was the core box at another house.

Educational value: Would be of use in studying murder mysteries or detective work, particularly if studying the stories of Sherlock Holmes. I can particularly see this being a great game to use as a whole class activity across one or two lessons when studying the classic novels. Teaches skills such as puzzle and problem solving, and thinking outside the box in critical and creative ways.

4. The Crew (Mission Deep Sea)

This small box has more value for the game inside than many boxes three to four times in size.

The Crew is another game that I view in terms of its system. I do think the second game is a better game and therefore is the version I would recommend in this position (however I only have the first game and do not want to clog my top ten with sequels). Now, at one point last year this was my number one game. However, with not playing it enough and playing the following games more it has become overtaken. That said, this is such good value for the price. If you want hours of gameplay at a throw-away price you need to buy The Crew and/or its sequel. There is one caveat: you need to enjoy trick-taking games.

Educational value: There are some links to Science in terms of the outer space flavour text, but they are tenuous. Unless a brilliant Science teacher could find a way to link the missions into interesting assessments/research/further learning activities in a classroom? That aside this is a great way to teach trick-taking games, cooperation, and communication, through gameplay.

3. Gloomhaven (Jaws of the Lion)

My copy of Gloomhaven takes up the space of numerous other games

I have not played much of Gloomhaven. It is a beast of a box, filled with amazing toys and surprises, and an amazing system with modular boards, miniatures, and standees. I will likely look to play it more in future when I have a set gaming room or my son is a little older and wants to play games. Or if I find a group to play with regularly. So why is Gloomhaven on my list at 3? Because of the wonder of Jaws of the Lion. I have finished Jaws of the Lion and it is such a wonderful fantasy world to visit, with so many exciting ways to play and explore. As with the previous two games, I do view this as one system and since I do not wish to clog up my list if I recommend one of these two games over the other it must be Jaws of the Lion.

Educational value: Due to the bulk of both games and length to play/campaign-driven nature I could only recommend them if you were teaching a class on the fantasy genre. They are both masterful examples of unique fantasy worldbuilding and could be studied as such. This aside, it is a cooperative game so there are lessons to learn as always about teamwork.

2. Marvel Champions

One of my favourite IPs and one of my favourite game systems!

Marvel Champions is such a great game system: you pick a hero and a villain and a villain scheme you need to thwart. If the scheme goals are met or the heroes die then the villain wins. If the villain is taken down then the heroes win instead. But the real beauty is in how this is an expandable system: want to get Captain America – you can buy his pack. Or if you want Doctor Strange or Green Goblin – buy their packs. The choices of heroes are only limited by deck availability and your wallet. And there are numerous expansions on the way to add new villains, campaigns and more. If you like Marvel comics then this is the perfect way to blend the superheroes into a thematic game.

Educational value: Perhaps if you were studying Marvel comics this might be relevant. Otherwise, relevance is limited. It does teach cooperative skills, but many other games can also do this and teach other lessons at the same time. Could be a game for a small classroom collection during break times.

1. Lord of the Rings: Journeys in Middle Earth

The best app-driven game for me and the perfect way for me to enjoy the hobby of board gaming!

This is not the best game on my list from a technical level, but it is my number one game. It is a game that is perfectly suited to my enjoyment, the enjoyment of my family, and just really excels at what it is: an app-driven dungeon crawler. Yes, it has a The Lord of the Rings theme which is well integrated, and of course, this positively affects my love for this game as this is my favourite IP beyond Star Wars. However, the fact that I can get my non-gaming family and my gamer friends to play this, for me means it is so very well done. The more I have dived into the game, the more depth I have found to the system, which is very basic at its core: taking key actions and choosing cards to play to determine success. However, at the same time, this element of choice (and I do believe the very best games use choice in a frugal manner with key payoffs for those choices) can be the difference between a successful mission or a failure. It is endlessly replayable for me and, with the first expansion, I already have more than enough content for years to come.

Educational value: Maybe useful if studying The Lord of the Rings but beyond that it has more of a storytelling, questing kind of interest. While certainly far from the best game to be used in a classroom, it is highly recommended for all fans of the IP.

And there you have it, my top 10 board games at this point. Please let me know what you thought of the top 100 and the educational points I made. And if you have any suggestions or ideas for the future all are welcome. Hope to see you reading one of my upcoming creative writing or board game posts in the new year!

3 thoughts on “My Top 100 Boardgames: 10-1

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started